search form
home

My home: what can I afford?

The affordability of your real estate financing

My home: what can I afford?

To finance a house or an apartment, you need enough equity. But another determining factor is how you can manage the costs involved. In addition to mortgage interest, the amortization of the loan and maintenance and incidental costs must be paid.

To ensure that you can handle these costs, a so-called affordability index is calculated. This index is used to designate the ratio of the expected costs compared to the net income of the prospective homeowner. The rule of thumb is that for sound financing, the expected costs should not total more than one third of your net income.

The affordability of your real estate financing

An affordability calculation is comprised as follows:

  • Interest is applied to the total amount of financing at an assumed annual rate of 4.5 percent. This ensures that the financing is also assured if interest rates increase.
  • Added to this are the targeted amortization of the mortgage loan. For interest reasons, it is to your own best advantage to reduce the incurred debt. As a guideline, the mortgage should be amortized within 15 years to roughly two thirds of the loan amount.
  • A further 1 percent of the value of the property is calculated for maintenance and incidental costs, such as renovations and remodeling of the property, as well as replacement of equipment and appliances. In addition to interest, amortization, and incidental costs, liabilities to third parties (leases, consumer loans, credit card balances, personal loans, vacation/second homes) are considered as expenses.

In a period of low interest rates - such as is currently the case - the effective costs of the property are of course lower than calculated. Nevertheless, the deciding factor for granting a mortgage loan is the affordability index calculated using the assumed interest rate of 4.5 percent.

Security-oriented evaluation of income

The total property costs calculated in this way must not be more than one third of the net income of the homeowner. A 13th monthly salary and other sustainable salary components are included in this amount. Dual wage earners can usually combine their two incomes if they enter into a joint and several debt. This means that both partners are jointly liable for the expected costs.
You should note, however, that most banks tend to evaluate your income situation more conservatively with emphasis on their security. Unusual salary components, such as bonuses or premiums that you receive from your employer without a long-term guarantee, are generally not included.

A concrete example of an affordability index calculation:

Purchase price CHF 800,000
Mortgage: 80% of the purchase price
CHF 640,000
  
Income Calculated property costs
Net salary Husband
CHF 103,000
Interest costs
4,5% of the mortgage
CHF 28,000
Net salary Wife (part-time)
CHF 52,000
Amortization1% of the borrowed capital requirement
CHF 6,400
Total income
CHF 155,000
Incidental an maintenance costs
1% of the price of the property
CHF 8,000
Total calculated property costs
CHF 43,200

Ratio of property costs compared to income

 27,9%

A professional advisor is a valuable help in calculating your financial burden and in avoiding bottlenecks and gaps. In this way, you can identify possible difficulties early and receive all the support you need to realize your home purchase.

home

Mein Eigenheim: Was kann ich mir leisten?

Die Tragbarkeit Ihrer Immobilienfinanzierung

Mein Eigenheim: Was kann ich mir leisten?

Um ein Haus oder eine Wohnung zu finanzieren, benötigen Sie ausreichend Eigenmittel. Massgebend ist aber auch, wie Sie die anfallenden Kosten tragen können. Zum Hypothekarzins gesellen sich die Amortisation der Kreditschuld sowie Unterhalts- und Nebenkosten, die zu begleichen sind.

Um sicherzustellen, dass Ihnen diese Kostenbelastung zuzumuten ist, wird die so genannte Tragbarkeit errechnet. Mit dieser Kennzahl bezeichnet man das Verhältnis der zu erwartenden Kosten zum Nettoeinkommen der zukünftigen Immobilienbesitzer. Als Faustregel gilt: Für eine solide Finanzierung darf die Summe der voraussichtlichen Kosten nicht mehr als einen Drittel Ihres Nettoeinkommens ausmachen.

Die Tragbarkeit Ihrer Immobilienfinanzierung

Eine Tragbarkeitsrechnung setzt sich wie folgt zusammen:

  • Der gesamte Finanzierungsbetrag wird in der Berechnung mit einem angenommenen Zinssatz von 4,5 Prozent jährlich verzinst. So wird sichergestellt, dass die Finanzierung auch dann gewährleistet ist, wenn die Zinsen ansteigen.
  • Dazu kommt die angestrebte Amortisation des Hypothekarkredits. Aus Zinsgründen liegt es in Ihrem eigenen Interesse, die entstandenen Schulden zu vermindern. Als Richtwert gilt, dass die Hypothek innert 15 Jahren auf rund zwei Drittel des Belehnungswerts amortisiert werden soll.
  • Weiter rechnet man kalkulatorisch 1 Prozent des Immobilienwerts für Unterhalts- und Nebenkosten. Darunter fallen zum Beispiel Renovationen und Erneuerungsarbeiten an der Liegenschaft sowie der Ersatz von Maschinen und Apparaten.
    Neben Zinsen, Amortisationen und Nebenkosten werden auch Verpflichtungen gegenüber Dritten (Leasing, Konsumkredite, Kreditkartenengagement, Privatdarlehen, Ferien-/ Zweitobjekte) als Ausgaben berücksichtigt.

In einer Phase mit tiefen Zinssätzen – wie es aktuell der Fall ist – liegen die effektiven Liegenschaftskosten zwar tiefer als kalkuliert. Massgebend für die Vergabe des Hypothekarkredits ist dennoch die angestellte Tragbarkeitsrechnung mit dem kalkulatorischen Zins von 4,5 Prozent.

Einkommen werden sicherheitsorientiert beurteilt

Die Summe der so berechneten jährlichen Liegenschaftskosten dürfen nicht mehr als einen Drittel des Nettoeinkommens der Eigentümerschaft ausmachen. Ein 13. Monatslohn und weitere nachhaltige Lohnbestandteile werden an diesen Betrag angerechnet. Doppelverdiener können ihre beiden Einkommen in der Regel addieren, sofern sie eine so genannte Solidarschuldnerschaft eingehen. Das bedeutet, beide Partner haften gemeinschaftlich für die zu erwartenden Kosten.
Beachten Sie jedoch auch, dass Ihre Einkommensverhältnisse zugunsten Ihrer Sicherheit von den meisten Banken eher konservativ beurteilt werden. Aussergewöhnliche Lohnbestandteile werden gemeinhin nicht angerechnet, beispielsweise, wenn Sie Boni oder Prämien von ihrem Arbeitgeber erhalten, die nicht langfristig garantiert sind.

Ein konkretes Beispiel einer Tragbarkeitsrechnung:

Kaufpreis CHF 800'000
Hypothek: 80% des Kaufpreises CHF 640'000
   
Einkommen Kalkulatorische Liegenschaftskosten
Nettolohn Ehemann CHF 103'000 Zinskosten 4,5% der Hypothek
CHF 28'000
Nettolohn Ehefrau (Teilzeit) CHF 52'000 Amortisation 1% des Fremdkapitalbedarfs CHF 6'400
Total Einkommen CHF 155'000 Neben- und Unterhaltkosten
1% des Liegenschaftspreises CHF 8'000
Total kalkulatorische Liegenschaftskosten CHF 43'200
Verhältnis Liegenschaftskosten zum Einkommen 27,9%

Eine professionelle Beratungsperson ist bei der Berechnung Ihrer finanziellen Belastung und beim Vermeiden von Engpässen und Lücken eine grosse Hilfe. So erkennen Sie eventuelle Schwierigkeiten frühzeitig und erhalten alle nötige Unterstützung für die Realisierung Ihres Eigenheims.