home

What do I need to know about taxes?

Property transfer tax, imputed rental value, deductions, wealth tax, real-estate gains tax, and other aspects

A new home - what do I need to know about taxes

The purchase of a house or a condominium brings changes to your life. For one thing, there are several things to consider when filing your taxes. We have listed the key points here for you.

  1. Property transfer tax
    The first thing you will face is the property transfer tax. It is due upon purchase of a property and in the Canton of Basel-City usually amounts to 3 percent of the assessed property value, which normally corresponds to the purchase price. With a new purchase and a replacement purchase of owner-occupied property, the tax rate is reduced to 1.5%; respectively, half of the buyer’s portion typically does not have to be paid.
  2. Imputed rental value
    A Swiss specialty is the imputed rental value of a property. The imputed rental value represents theoretical income that is added to your income from other sources, such as your salary, etc. The imputed rental value is intended to correspond to the amount that you would receive as owner if you rented the property to a tenant. Note: extensive modifications or renovations can result in an increase in the value of the property and therefore also in the imputed rental value.
  3. Deductions from taxable income
    The imputed rental value increases your taxable income; in return, you can deduct the costs of upkeep of your property from your income. For maintenance costs, a flat-rate deduction can be made, or you can itemize the actual expenses for upkeep in your tax return. Costs for maintenance work can usually be deducted if they are value-preserving in nature; for example, replacing an old bathtub. Value-adding work, such as the installation of a whirlpool, on the other hand, is usually not deductible. Many tax offices publish lists that you can refer to in order to determine whether specific maintenance costs are deductible.
  4. Wealth tax on properties
    All cantons impose a tax on your assets - now your house or your condominium is a part of your assets. The deciding factor here is also the assessed tax value of your property; documented debts on the property reduce the value of the asset.
  5. Real-estate gains tax
    If you want to sell your property some day, you must pay a real-estate gains tax. This tax was introduced by many cantons to promote speculation with real estate. If you earn a profit from the sale of a property (compared to the purchase price when it was bought), a tax will be assessed on that gain. This tax depends on many factors, including the length of time that the property was used.

Clarify the tax aspects before you buy

For you as a new homeowner, therefore, the imputed rental value and the potential tax deductions play an especially important role. The assumption that property ownership always leads to lower taxes is not always correct. The amount of the taxes to be paid periodically depends on the imputed rental value, but also on the type of expenses you incur for upkeep, renovation, or expansion. Gather information before you buy from your bank and from the cantonal tax office concerning what additional factors will affect you when you purchase the property.

home

Was muss ich bei den Steuern beachten?

Handänderungssteuer, Eigenmietwert, Abzüge, Vermögenssteuer, Grundstücksgewinnsteuer und weitere Punkte

Neues Eigenheim – was ich bei den Steuern beachten muss

Mit dem Kauf eines Hauses oder einer Eigentumswohnung ändert sich einiges in Ihrem Leben. Unter anderem gilt es, bei der Steuererklärung einige Dinge zu berücksichtigen. Die wichtigsten Punkte haben wir hier für Sie aufgeführt.

  1. Die Handänderungssteuer
    Als erstes werden Sie die Handänderungssteuer antreffen. Sie wird beim Kauf einer Liegenschaft fällig und beträgt im Kanton Basel-Stadt in der Regel 3 Prozent des für die Steuerbemessung massgebenden Liegenschaftswertes; meistens entspricht dies dem Kaufpreis. Bei Neuerwerb und bei Ersatzerwerb von selbstgenutztem Eigentum ermässigt sich der Steuersatz auf 1.5%, bzw. der hälftige Anteil des Käufers ist in der Praxis nicht zu bezahlen.
  2. Der Eigenmietwert
    Eine Schweizer Spezialität ist der Eigenmietwert einer Immobilie. Der Eigenmietwert stellt ein kalkulatorisches Einkommen dar, das zu Ihren sonstigen Einkünften wie Lohn etc. hinzugerechnet wird. Der Eigenmietwert sollte dem Betrag entsprechen, den Sie als Eigentümer erzielen würden, wenn Sie die Immobilie vermieten. Beachten Sie: Grössere Umbauten oder Renovationen können dazu führen, dass sich der Wert der Immobilie und damit der Eigenmietwert erhöht.
  3. Abzüge vom steuerbaren Einkommen
    Der Eigenmietwert erhöht Ihr steuerbares Einkommen, im Gegenzug dürfen Sie Schuldzinsen und Kosten für den Unterhalt für Ihre Immobilie vom Einkommen abziehen. Für Unterhaltskosten kann ein Pauschalabzug gemacht werden, oder Sie weisen die effektiven Ausgaben für den Unterhalt in der Steuererklärung nach. Kosten für Unterhaltsarbeiten können meist nur abgezogen werden, wenn sie werterhaltenden Charakter haben also etwa der Ersatz einer alten Badewanne. Wertvermehrende Arbeiten wie der Einbau eines Whirlpools hingegen sind meist nicht abzugsfähig. Viele Steuerämter publizieren Listen, mit denen Sie sich über die Abzugsfähigkeit von Unterhaltskosten informieren können.
  4. Vermögenssteuer auf Liegenschaften
    Alle Kantone erheben eine Steuer auf Ihr Vermögen – neu gehört Ihr Haus oder Ihre Eigentumswohnung zu Ihrem Vermögen. Massgebend ist auch hier der Steuerwert Ihrer Immobilie; die nachgewiesenen Schulden auf der Immobilie mindern den Vermögenswert.
  5. Die Grundstückgewinnsteuer
    Wollen Sie Ihre Immobilie dereinst verkaufen, müssen Sie eine Grundstückgewinnsteuer entrichten. Diese Steuer wurde von vielen Kantonen eingeführt, um Spekulationen mit Immobilien Vorschub zu leisten. Wird beim Verkauf einer Liegenschaft (im Vergleich zum damaligen Kaufpreis) ein Gewinn erzielt, wird darauf eine Steuer erhoben. Diese Steuer ist von vielen Faktoren abhängig, unter anderem von der Dauer der Nutzung der Liegenschaft.

Klären Sie steuerliche Aspekte vor dem Kauf

Für Sie als neuer Eigenheim-Besitzer spielen also insbesondere der Eigenmietwert und die steuerlich möglichen Abzüge eine Rolle. Die Annahme, dass Immobilienbesitz immer zu einer tieferen Steuerbelastung führt, stimmt so generell nicht. Die Höhe der zu entrichtenden periodischen Steuern ist vom Eigenmietwert abhängig, aber auch von der Art der Ausgaben, die Sie für Unterhalt, Renovation oder Ausbau tätigen. Informieren Sie sich vor dem Kauf bei Ihrer Bank und beim kantonalen Steueramt, welche zusätzlichen Faktoren mit dem Liegenschaftskauf auf Sie zukommen.