home

Mortgages and Financing

Your questions about mortgages

What mortgage is right for me?

Financing a home is like a glove. It should fit. The mortgage products you find on the market today provide highly individualized solutions - as long as you know what your needs and options are, as well as the features of the various products on offer.

Needs and options: two questions to help you find the right mortgage

You need to ask yourself two questions to gain an initial impression as to what type of “mortgage borrower” you are. How much risk you’re willing to accept and what your financial circumstances look like.

Can you accept that the cost of your home is subject to certain fluctuations or do you want to avoid any surprises?
Do you have adequate financial flexibility to handle sudden rises in interest rates? Or do your personal circumstances require you to be able to budget very exactly?

The answers to these questions can help you tailor the offerings to your individual needs. By evaluating the respective features of the various products, you can find your best solution. When considering the different mortgage products, it is important to look at the following three points:

How do the mortgage products differ?

The various types of mortgages differ first of all in price - the interest rate. However, the interest rate should not be the only consideration, because over the long term the cheapest solution is not always the best. There are other differences that you should consider when deciding on a mortgage or a combination of mortgage products.

  • 1. Interest rate adjustments

    Interest rates in the financial markets are subject to constant fluctuation. As a result, your monthly payments vary. You need to ask yourself how long-term you want or need to plan for the costs of the real estate, depending on your financial circumstances.

    With adjustable rate mortgages the interest rate can change any time. If rates drop, you benefit from lower costs, but if rates go up your expenses increase. You need to have a degree of financial flexibility to handle additional costs.

    A LIBOR mortgage is based on the Libor interbank offered interest rate. The interest rates are adjusted every three months or every six months. With these products, your monthly payment can increase or decrease. But you profit from interest rates that can be significantly lower than long-term interest rates.

    With fixed-rate mortgages you avoid this risk. The interest rate is fixed for a term from 2 to 10 years, and you know exactly what your costs will be. This type of mortgage provides security and planning ability, but you would not benefit if interest rates go down.

  • 2. Terms

    Mortgage offerings differ with respect to their terms. Adjustable rate mortgages do not have a defined term, while fixed-rate mortgages usually run for 2 or up to 10 years; a Libor-indexed mortgage often has a three-year term.

    It can be advantageous to finance your home with multiple mortgages that have different terms. In this way, you can avoid having to renegotiate the entire loan when the term expires. When interest rates are rising, this can help you avoid incurring the costs for the entire loan all at once.

  • 3. Amortization

    Depending on the product, you can amortize a mortgage directly or indirectly. That affects your tax liability. «Direct amortization» means that you repay the mortgage bit by bit, so that the interest burden decreases. This also means that your mortgage deduction is lower in your tax return, so that you may pay less in interest but more in taxes.

    With indirect amortization you don’t pay the mortgage off, but instead transfer the respective amount to a Pillar 3a account. The mortgage debt does not decrease with this type of amortization, so the tax-deductible costs remain constant. You can also deduct the payments to the Pillar 3a account from your taxable income. If the Pillar 3a account is dissolved, these funds will be used to amortize the mortgage.

Below is an overview of the three mortgage types. The chart helps you identify the right mortgage for you:



Adjustable rate mortgage
LIBOR indexed mortgage
Fixed rate mortgage
Interest rate adjustments
Possible anytime
Optionally every three months or every six months
Fixed interest rate over entire term
Term No defined term
3 years
2 to 10 years
Amortization Direct or indirect over Pillar 3 savings accounts
Indirect over Pillar 3 savings accounts
Direct or indirect over Pillar 3 savings accounts
Cancellation Possible with 3 months notice
Not possible during the term
Not possible during the term
Your needs
You profit from falling interest rates, but must also be able to bear higher interest costs.
You profit from interest rates that in some cases are significantly lower than longer-term interest rates. But you must be flexible enough to handle interest increases.
You know the monthly cost for the coming years exactly and can budget accordingly.

home

Hypotheken und Finanzierung

Ihre Fragen zu Hypotheken

Welche Hypothek passt zu mir?

Die Finanzierung eines Eigenheimes ist wie ein Handschuh: Sie muss passen. Die Hypothekarprodukte, die Sie heute auf dem Markt finden, erlauben sehr individuelle Lösungen – vorausgesetzt, Sie kennen Ihre Bedürfnisse und Möglichkeiten sowie die Eigenschaften der verschiedenen Angebote.

Bedürfnisse und Möglichkeiten: Mit zwei Fragen zur richtigen Hypothek

Sie müssen sich zwei Fragen stellen, um einen ersten Eindruck zu erhalten, was für ein «Hypothekar-Typ» Sie sind: Wie viel Risiko Sie akzeptieren wollen und wie Ihr finanzieller Spielraum aussieht.

Nehmen Sie das Risiko in Kauf, dass die Kosten für Ihr Eigenheim gewissen Schwankungen unterliegen oder möchten Sie Überraschungen vermeiden?

Verfügen Sie über genügend finanziellen Spielraum, um plötzlich steigende Zinsen zu tragen? Oder müssen Sie aufgrund der persönlichen Situation genau planen können?

Mit den Antworten zu diesen Fragen können Sie die Angebote besser auf sich zuschneiden: Sie können die jeweiligen Eigenschaften beurteilen und finden so die individuell beste Lösung. Wenn Sie sich Hypothekarprodukte ansehen, gilt es, einen Blick auf die folgenden drei Punkte zu werfen.

Wie unterscheiden sich Hypothekar-Angebote?

Die verschiedenen Hypotheken unterscheiden sich zuerst nach dem Preis – dem Zinssatz. Allerdings sollte der Zinssatz nicht das einzige Kriterium sein, denn langfristig ist die günstigste Lösung nicht immer die beste. Es gibt weitere Unterschiede, die Sie bei der Entscheidung für eine Hypothek oder
eine Kombination von Hypothekarprodukten berücksichtigen sollten:

  • 1. Zinsanpassungen

    Die Zinssätze auf den Finanzmärkten unterliegen ständigen Schwankungen. In der Folge ändert sich für Sie die monatliche Belastung. Sie müssen sich fragen, wie langfristig Sie die Kosten für die Immobilie planen möchten oder müssen, abhängig von Ihrem finanziellen Spielraum.

    Bei variablen Hypotheken kann der Zinssatz jederzeit angepasst werden. Bei sinkenden Zinsen profitieren Sie von geringeren Kosten, bei steigenden Zinsen erhöhen sich Ihre Ausgaben. Sie benötigen einen gewissen finanziellen Spielraum, um zusätzliche Kosten tragen zu können.

    Die LIBOR-Hypothek basiert auf dem von Banken vereinbarten LIBOR-Zinssatz. Die Zinssätze werden wahlweise alle drei oder sechs Monate angepasst. Auch bei diesen Produkten kann sich Ihre monatliche Belastung erhöhen oder verringern. Dafür profitieren Sie von Zinssätzen, die teilweise markant unter den langfristigen Zinssätzen liegen.

    Bei Festhypotheken umgehen Sie dieses Risiko. Der Zinssatz wird für eine Laufzeit von 2 bis 10 Jahren festgelegt und Sie wissen genau, welche Ausgaben auf Sie zukommen. Das gibt Sicherheit und Planbarkeit, dafür würden Sie bei dieser Variante nicht von sinkenden Zinsen profitieren.

  • 2. Laufzeiten

    Die Hypothekenangebote unterscheiden sich bezüglich der Laufzeiten. Für eine variable Hypothek wird keine Laufzeit festgelegt, während eine Festhypothek meist über zwei bis 10 Jahre läuft, eine LIBOR-Hypothek häufig über drei Jahre.

    Es kann sinnvoll sein, Ihr Eigenheim mit mehreren Hypotheken zu finanzieren, die unterschiedliche Laufzeiten haben. So verhindern Sie, dass Sie bei Ablauf der Laufzeit die gesamte Finanzierung neu regeln müssen. Bei steigenden Zinsen können Sie auf diese Weise vermeiden, dass die Kosten für die gesamte Finanzierung auf einen Schlag ansteigen.

  • 3. Amortisation

    Je nach Produkt können Sie eine Hypothek direkt oder indirekt amortisieren. Das wirkt sich auf die Steuern aus, die Sie bezahlen müssen. «Direkt amortisieren» heisst, dass Sie die Hypothek Stück für Stück abbezahlen und dadurch die Zinsbelastung sinkt. Das bedeutet auch, dass Sie in der Steuererklärung weniger Kosten für das Eigenheim abziehen können unter Umständen bezahlen Sie deshalb zwar weniger Zinsen, dafür mehr Steuern.

    Bei der indirekten Amortisation bezahlen Sie nicht die Hypothek ab, sondern überweisen den entsprechenden Betrag auf ein Konto der Säule 3a. Die Hypothekarschuld verringert sich so nicht, die Zinslast und damit die steuerlich abziehbaren Kosten bleiben gleich. Ausserdem können Sie die Einzahlungen auf das 3a-Konto vom steuerbaren Einkommen abziehen. Wird das 3a-Konto aufgelöst, werden diese Mittel verwendet, um die Hypothek zu amortisieren.



Variable Hypothek  LIBOR-Hypothek  Festhypothek
Anpassungen des Zinssatzes
jederzeit möglich
wahlweise alle drei oder sechs Monate
fester Zinssatz für gesamte Laufzeit
Laufzeit keine feste Laufzeit
3 Jahre
2 bis 10 Jahre
Amortisation Direkt oder indirekt über Sparen 3-Konten
indirekt über Sparen 3-Konten
Direkt oder indirekt über Sparen 3-Konten
Kündigung Auf 3 Monate möglich
während der Laufzeit nicht möglich
während der Laufzeit nicht möglich
Ihre Bedürfnisse
Sie profitieren von sinkenden Zinsen, müssen aber auch allfällige höhere Zinskosten tragen können.
Sie profitieren von Zinssätzen, die teilweise markant unter den längerfristigen Zinsen liegen. Sie müssen aber genügend Spielraum haben, um Zinserhöhungen zu tragen.
Sie kennen die monatliche Belastung für die kommenden Jahre genau und können entsprechend planen.